Background Image
Add to Favorites /


geology kythira γεωλογία

Kythera has an area of 284 km².  It is 29 km long (N-S) and 18 km wide (E-W). The island is part of the same tectonic unit as the area that includes Macedonia, Thessalia, Sterea Hellas, Peloponnese and Crete. Its major features include hills and sheer cliffs.  There is also a valley towards the east. Kythera belongs to the Alpine chain and more specifically to the southern branch of the Tethysian realm (Papanikolaou, 1986). The southern branch of the Tethysian realm includes the southern Alps, the Apennines, the Dinarics, the Taurids, the Iranids, as well as parts of other chains that touch the Himalaya.

The geological bedrock of Kythera is formed by the tectonic units of Arna, Tripolis and Pindos. Only the eastern part of the island is formed by more recent deposits.

Geological map of Kythera (Greek Institute of Geological Studies 2001 Ι.Γ.Μ.Ε)

Kythera’s Springs

The island of Kythera has many springs, most of which are in the central and northern parts of the island.  Some of the springs in the northern area contain minerals.  The most important springs are in Mylopotamos, Mitata, Viaradika, Gonies, Krya Vryssi, Peratis, Ocheles, Petrouni and Karavas.

No Comments

Post a Comment

Special Deals to stay in Kythira


five × four =

Password reset link will be sent to your email


You agree to the use of cookies. More information

Οι ρυθμίσεις των cookies σε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα έχουν οριστεί σε "αποδοχή cookies" για να σας δώσουμε την καλύτερη δυνατή εμπειρία περιήγησης. Εάν συνεχίσετε να χρησιμοποιείτε αυτή την ιστοσελίδα χωρίς να αλλάξετε τις ρυθμίσεις των cookies σας ή κάνετε κλικ στο κουμπί "Κλείσιμο" παρακάτω τότε συναινείτε σε αυτό.