blank

Environnement

Nature de Cythère

Flore

Le climat de l’île est méditerranéen, caractérisé par un hiver humide et doux et par un été chaud et sec. Les espèces de flore qui prospèrent à Cythère sont résistantes aux étés chauds, et à la basse altitude de l’île. On y trouve environ 800 espèces florales. La plupart de ces plantes sont des petits buissons, comme […]

Géologie

Cythère a une superficie de 284km². Elle fait 29km de long (N-S) et 18km de large (E-O). L’île appartient à la même unité tectonique que la région de Macédoine, de Thessalie, de Sterea Hellas, du Péloponnèse et de la Crète. Ses caractéristiques majeures sont les collines et les falaises abruptes. Elle dispose aussi d’une vallée à […]

Les sources de Cythère

L’île de Cythère a de nombreuses sources, dont la plupart se trouvent dans la partie centrale et au nord de l’île. Certaines parmi celles à la partie Nord contiennent des minéraux. Les sources les plus importantes sont à Mylopotamos, à Mitata, à Viaradika, à Gonies, à Krya Vryssi, à Peratis, à Ochèles, à Pétrouni et […]

Faune et flore marines

La mer de Cythère est reconnue pour sa richesse en flore marine et la propreté de ses eaux. Le fond de la mer est rocheux et abrupt, et les eaux sont très profondes. A peine à 40-50 milles nautiques à l’Ouest de l’île la profondeur atteint 3000 à 4000m, et au Sud-ouest du cap Tainaron, la profondeur […]

Faune terrestre

La faune de Cythère est peu riche. La plupart des espèces fauniques se trouvent dans les endroits les plus déserts, comme les vallons, ainsi que dans les endroits où la flore est abondante. Il y a des mammifères, des oiseaux, des reptiles, des invertébrés et autres. Parmi eux le hérisson (erinaceus concolor), la chauve-souris naine (pipistrellus pipistrellus), […]

Leave your comment
Click to access the login or register cheese

blank

Environment

The Nature of Kythera

Flora

The island’s climate is Mediterranean, characterized by humid and mild winters and hot and dry summers. The species of flora that thrive in Kythera are resistant to hot summers and to the island’s low altitude. There are approximately 800 types of floral species.  Most of these plants are small shrubs such as spurge (Euphorbia characias), sage (Salvia), […]

Geology

Kythera has an area of 284 km².  It is 29 km long (N-S) and 18 km wide (E-W). The island is part of the same tectonic unit as the area that includes Macedonia, Thessalia, Sterea Hellas, Peloponnese and Crete. Its major features include hills and sheer cliffs.  There is also a valley towards the east. Kythera […]

Kythera’s Springs

The island of Kythera has many springs, most of which are in the central and northern parts of the island.  Some of the springs in the northern area contain minerals.  The most important springs are in Mylopotamos, Mitata, Viaradika, Gonies, Krya Vryssi, Peratis, Ocheles, Petrouni and Karavas. 1. Kaloyerou behind Agios Nikolas 2. Petrouni 3. […]

Sea Fauna

The Sea of Kythera is known for its rich sea flora and the cleanliness of its waters. The sea floor is rocky and steep and waters run very deep. At a mere 40 to 50 nautical miles to the west of the island the sea depth reaches 3,000 to 4,000 m, and southwest of Cape Tainaron the […]

Wildlife

There is little wildlife on Kythera. Most wildlife species can be found in the more deserted areas, such as dells, and in areas where there is a lush plant life. There are mammals, birds, reptiles, invertebrates and others. Some of these species include hedgehogs (erinaceus concolor), small-footed bats (pipistrellus pipistrellus), rabbits (lepus capensis), mice (mus musculus) […]

Leave your comment
Click to access the login or register cheese